Infinite (인피니트)

   I’m all into pop. I’m not ashamed of this. I’m not a blues fan, I find it boring almost as Lars von Trier artsy crap. I’ve always been a rock girl, but never had any aversion towards pop. I think talent can be found everywhere. And I prefer to listen to a good pop that mediocre rock. Last year I didn’t have time to update myself as much as I wanted on kpop, I just tried to remember the names of new bands. Don’t care much for girl bands, because as for me, and it’s not a jealousy speaking, apart from showing cutsy, IQ 45 faces and legs, they don’t have anything much to offer. Yes, I mentioned few times, 2NE1 is the only girl group that has distinctive style, music, and voices. Plus balls, they do. Boy groups, they are more complex, on the other hand. Their choreo is sometimes highly complicated, and their voices are, in general, better.
Oh yes, and I do love dancing men. I do.
Don’t even look here if you judge pop by N’Sync (or however it is written). People don’t want to be divided by race, gender, sexual orientation, so why divide music? And just because you don’t like/listen to a certain genre, it doesn’t mean it’s a crap. I don’t like blues, but I like some songs, because I can give that they are nice. The same goes even for a 7-member boy group.
Jonghyeon post in some time, I need to recover after what he’s done^^

   So, what this is about? Weeks ago, Ori sent me a link to an MV. I faintly remembered the name of the band back in last summer, but had never any chance, nor will to check them up. My bad.
And ever since I’m hooked. No band since DBSK and SHINee did that to me. I’m not sure how long this will last, but as for now, I’m really impressed by what I hear, and also by what I see. I’m trying to listen to the song first, even if this is as a video on YT, just minimalise it and listen. If there is nothing in the sound – I can’t force myself to listen to it. 
Members:
Seonggyu (김성규)
Dongwu (장동우)
Wuhyeon (남우현)
Hoya (Yi Howon 이호원)
Sung-yeol (이성열)
L (김명수)
Seongjong (이성종)
   Apart from an amazing synchro in their dancing, they have good voices (some), and good music. It’s totally different from your usual boy group sound. It has more air, more sun, it’s an ol’ good funk in it. Some hear Michael Jackson in it, and it’s a great comparison.
And yet they are horribly underrated. They are better than Big Bang in their music production and choreo (gods, Biga Bang is horrible, plus they have TOP to spoil everything, on top of that, ahahaha!!), but they are not everywhere like those 5.
This is the video that started it all:
I know I posted it already, but since I present them here and now, allow me to do it again. They have (like almost any band) normal MV and “dance version”, so the latter version is below (with famed scorpion dance).
Next one is Come Back Again, but only in dance version, because it’s freaking awesome. Both the song and choreo.
And now, live performances. Boys are good.
Hysterie:
Hysterie (full):
Hysterie and BTD (Before The Dawn):

Oh yes, and one last thing, I never write “in the heat of things”. My thoughts have been hovering over this post for some time already before I finally gave myself a green light.
So yes, we were spazzing yesterday, but for me this was few-weeks road and…
Dorawa, dorawa… Tashi dorawa…
About ethlenn

Just usual suspect
This entry was posted in Infinite, korean music. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Infinite (인피니트)

  1. alexe says:

    Sorry not to speak about k pop here ; I just wanted to say that I like very much too I need romance ; I have stopped for a while Miss Ripley and CH because it is hard to watch ( so much violence in it ! ) . I like Warrior BD and MWTS ; waiting for Princess's man – and LEE Seo Jin !
    Thanks for your posts .

  2. clichy says:

    somethimes i'm amazed really, where do they find this guys? i mean if there are 5-6 boys in a band not all off them can sing but those who can – ohh, they rock! thanks for the tip about Infinite,i was sceptical but it seems you are right, i'll watch them closer to see what happens- until now Shinee are my fav- and i'm not a big fan of pop at all but they are Shinee so how cares 😛 By the way i loved Yesong on IS2- Boohwal special and Hyorin- she has such a strong voice.

  3. clichy says:

    sorry for my spelling i was in a frenzy

  4. Ethlenn says:

    Well, I was pretty sure no band apart from former DBSK and SHINee can shake me so much, but I'm spazzing even now. And I spent my time today checking all others that are fairly new and… well… I don't want to add another curse from fangirls on my head.

    Infinite just blew me off. They are really great, both visually (a bit “too normal” and less flashy maybe as for fangirls) and musically.
    Damn me, but I really started to love those boys. Will definitely keep an eye on them.
    Let's make them more known^^

    About IS2 – for me it ended on episode 3. Nothing can change that, I still watch some performances, but it's not the same anymore. My heart doesn't race, my pulse doesn't go crazy, my whole being is not emotionally squeezed anymore.

  5. peggybrad says:

    I am not an expert in song/dance groups. I know who I like and usually the music comes first.
    I love love '2 AM' they all have lovely voices which they can blend or separate and it is all musical. Tthey can just stand there and look attractive and they have no need to dance or go through gymnastic militaristic prancing. If they wish they can go on as a group for many years, I hope they will do just that.

    I have always liked SHINEE. They are so young but they are maturing into really good performers. Adore Minho. He is about the only performer for whom I would use that word..'cute'

    I love Nichkhun in 2 PM. I am always looking for him when I watch the group. He does not get enough promotion and not enough exposure at all. I think he will probably get into acting one of these days. However the group as a whole is very disciplined when they dance, and usually I can enjoy what they do.
    It constantly amazes me how hard these guys have to work and they seem to be able to do it all and still smile. Their long training before they make their debuts must seem endless to them. It may be several years before they get their day in the sun. By that time they are totoally ready.

  6. clichy says:

    peggybrad: you think Nichkhun doesn't get enough exposure?i don't know, maybe you're right i'm not a 2pm fan but actually he is the only one i know from 2pm except junsu and i constantly hear his name in variety shows-hmmm how can i say this in a proper way- i think he is a great guy i've watched some khuntoria eps but honestly he doesn't have such a great voice and that goes with Minho also. But they all work so hard, i guess that's one of the reasons fans love and support them no matter what.

  7. Ethlenn says:

    Oh, Minho is not a singer, let's face it. He's cute as Peggy wrote, but seriously, only deaf fan of his would claim he can sing. I mean, he can, comparing to TOP, ie (OK, OK, I'll play nice^^), but SHINee has Jonghyeon and he SHINES in singing and emotions-delivering category. One and only.

    As for 2PM, I really can't stand those guys, and their latest single and MV for it, which is “Hands Up” is a pure crap. With capital letter C.

    I'm indifferent toward 2AM, and through IS2 I started to appreciate Yesung voice more (but he's from SuJu, so it doen't count), but I can't stand B2ST, on the other hand, MBLAQ, and ZE;A. Jeez, I really can't…

    And Peggy, the fact you mentioned it – this is why JYJ boys finally gave up. We appreciate their performances, but those are fruits of their blood and sweat. Literally.

  8. peggybrad says:

    When I said I didn't think Nichkhun got enough exposure, I meant when they are performing a number. I look for him but he is always just out of range. I really could live without the whole group but I would like to see Nichkhun in more variety shows and eventually in dramas or something. He is so much more charming taen Seunggi for example. AAHH what did I say!!!

  9. Sham says:

    Im not a big fan of kpop , but I really like “2 AM ” , love their voices , look ,performances and songs !
    This guys arent bad too ! Thanks for the post : )

    Ps:PSH isnt in the banner ?:O o_o

  10. Ethlenn says:

    Ahaha, Peggy, beware, fangirls will eat you alive for that!! Ahaha!

    As for PSH, he never had fixed place. I like him, but I think I like mah baby more^^

Leave a Reply

